Physical Education

 

 

    

All pupils at Ratcliffe enjoy a full and varied programme of Physical Education Activity.

The PE programme changes each year to enable pupils to experience a full and balance curriculum.  Activities on offer may range from gymnastics, ultimate Frisbee, handball badminton, volleyball, swimming, health-related fitness, OOA, teambuilding and much more.

As part of our PE programme we run an outdoor adventurous activity programme (OOA); orienting, archery and teambuilding during curriculum lessons and also take pupils out of school during our whole school activity week. Where pupils experience activities which include, archery water-sports, climbing, cycling, high ropes and fire building, to name a few.

From Year 7 – 9 all pupils have a swimming lessons, in the lower years the emphasis is on stroke technique and water confidence and as pupils move through the school they explore other activities such as water polo, aqua aerobics and lifesaving.

We have an array of wonderful facilities, which pupils enjoy the use of in our extensive PE programme, including the sports hall, swimming pool, squash court, fitness suite and our outdoor facilities.

Extra-Curricular Activities

Physical Education plays an important part in the extra-curricular programme. A major emphasis of the programme is the pursuit of excellence and school representation in the major sports teams, which include rugby, boys’ and girls’ hockey, netball, football, cricket, tennis, swimming and athletics. Ratcliffe has a strong reputation for the quality of its sports teams and all students are encouraged to join in.

It is a well-established fact that physical exercise is extremely beneficial for those who wish to succeed in their studies, and the facilities at the school allow plenty of opportunities for students to get involved with the busy sporting programme.

Set within a beautiful 100-acre estate, the school’s facilities are excellent. We have:

  • A fully kitted sports hall with five badminton courts, basketball court, netball court and a dedicated squash court
  • A fitness suite, containing brand new cardio-vascular and resistance training machines and a free weights section
  • Tennis & Netball courts
  • A wide range of high quality rugby, cricket, football and rounders pitches
  • Indoor and Outdoor cricket nets
  • A heated, indoor 25-metre swimming pool.
  • Two floodlit, all-weather Astroturf pitches for hockey
  • Newly constructed tartan Athletics track

Staff

Miss Amanda Stafford, Director of Sport astafford@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Mrs Anne Taylor, Head of Academic PE, Head of Netball ataylor@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Mr Martin Kaye, Head of Rugby mkaye@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Mr Nigel Taylor, Head of Year 12 ntaylor@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Mr Edward Woodcock, Head of Cricket ewoodcock@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Mr Phil Gilchrist, Boarding House Master pgilchrist@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Mr Danny Willcock, Head of Hockey dwillcock@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Miss Emmy Bakewell , Teacher of PE ebakewell@ratcliffe.leics.sch.uk
Miss Charlotte Collins , Graduate Assistant
Miss Rebecca Pawley Graduate Assistant
Mr Dan Spires, Graduate Assistant
Mr Sam Turner , Graduate Assistant